Article Categories

Community of Christ

Community of Christ. Previously known as the Reorganized Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, on January 1, 2001 the church officially changed its name to the Community of Christ (COC). It is the second largest splinter group of the Latter-day Saint movement. Headquartered in Independence, Missouri, this group historically has been led by direct descendants of Joseph Smith, whereas the Utah Mormons take their leaders from the Quorum of the Twelve, or twelve apostles. A comparison between COC and LDS teachings show the COC to be less controversial than their LDS counterparts, although its doctrines are related more to New Age than biblical Christainity.

Return to dictionary here. 

Share this

Share on twitter
Share on facebook
Share on email

Check out these related articles...