Article Categories


Scripture: The four written works (Bible, Book of Mormon, the Doctrine and Covenants, and the Pearl of Great Price) are called the Standard Works. In addition, this could also include the inspired words of the living prophet, official church writings, and General Conference addresses.

As tenth LDS President Joseph Fielding Smith explained, “WHAT IS SCRIPTURE? When one of the brethren stands before a congregation of the people today, and the inspiration of the Lord is upon him, he speaks that which the Lord would have him speak. It is just as much scripture as anything you will find written in any of these records, and yet we call these the standard works of the Church” (Doctrines of Salvation 1:186). Thirteenth President Ezra Taft Benson explained, “The inspired words of prophets, when written down, have become scripture, and whenever God has His representatives on the earth, there is always new revelation and new scripture (see D&C 68:3-4). Only when men become so corrupt that the prophets are taken out of their midst do scriptures cease. And God has stated that only through His authorized representatives could men receive the ordinances essential for salvation and the commandments necessary for the perfection of His children” (Teachings of Ezra Taft Benson, p. 132).

For blog articles on this topic, see here.

Return to dictionary here.



Share this

Check out these related articles...